Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrcarney_gw

Using Gravel for mulch

mrcarney
16 years ago

I am new to site site and I have a question? My wife and I are on a tight budget with our new baby. We love the white rocks for our front flower/shrubs area. I think I can get a hold of some gravel. Can I paint it white? My areas in front are guessing: 4'W x 12'L and 4'W x 8'L

Any ideas?

Thanks

Comments (8)

• bullthistle
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

You are joking right? Live with the color of the gravel.

Here is a link that might be useful: Propagating Perennials

• agardenstateof_mind
    16 years ago

Leave the gravel as it is, where it is ... you don't really want it in your garden. If you can't afford a commercial organic mulch product just now, then use some shredded leaves. You may not want to invest in a shredder just now, so run over them with your mower a few times until they're the right consistency. Some communities offer free mulch; I know many people who have used it with no problems, but I'm wary of it because I don't know whether it could contain pests or disease organisms (of plants, not people).

The whole point of mulch is to help stabilize soil temperature, retain moisture and keep weeds down. Gravel is not really very good at any of the above, whereas organic mulch is, and it will break down eventually, enriching the soil and improving its structure. (Besides, toddlers just love to pick up those stones and toss/drop them into the lawn and other places they don't belong.)