Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ericwww_gw

Backyard pergola vs gazebo/pavilion

EricWww
11 years ago

Lived in my house 3 years and now finally getting around to doing my outside. I've never owned my own place before so I'm a little new at this.

I'm debating between a pergola or a gazebo/pavilion for my back yard. My house backs up to some townhouses :( it's not that big of a deal as I don't have any problems with anyone but the 2nd story of those houses do directly overlook my back yard. Either one would help to break up the direct line of sign into my back yard. There are some privacy trees planted but it will be a few years before they grow tall enough to block out the neighbors.

The back yard. I plan on doing a patio in most of the area.

{{gwi:22758}}

Thinking about something like this for pergola:

{{gwi:22760}}

Or this for pavilion:

{{gwi:22763}}

Pros and cons I've come up with:

Pergola:

Pros:

I think it looks better.

Cons:

More expensive- the one pictured below is ~2x the cost of the Pavilion . It's red cedar and $3900.

No protection from weather etc.

Pavilion/Gazebo: 12' x 16' is $1900ish

Pros:

Cheaper

Has screens to keep out insects and privacy curtains

Protection from rain etc

Cons: Not sure how structurally stable it is- anything with a fixed roof has the potential to collapse in high wind/heavy snow.

I'm leaning towards the pavilion for now. Might do a pergola in my front yard though.

What are your thoughts?

Comments (13)

• PRO
    Yardvaark
    11 years ago