Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
busybee123

Backyard Design - What would you do?

CFT
11 years ago

We purchased a fixer-upper with desperate landscaping nearly 3 years ago and are finally ready to turn our attentions to the backyard, only we aren't quite sure what to do or where to start. We made some improvements right after purchasing but haven't done much since. The space gets so hot & sunny in the summer, it becomes almost unusable. I'm an aspiring novice on a budget dreaming of a pretty, family-friendly, usable space & hoping for some help forming a plan. A little background info:

- Conditions: Main yard area gets full sun, almost all day. Bed along carport gets full morning sun & is shaded in afternoon. East side of house gets a little morning sun but is shaded for most of day. Very back of lot is heavily overgrown privet jungle; not really sure what all is in there...

- Goals:

1. SHADE - 1 year old little girl needs a place to play.

2. Visual Improvement - it's just so darn stark & boring!

3. Low(er) maintenance design.

- Existing Structures:

1. Small covered porch & concrete patio against house.

2. Bermuda lawn (pro help getting the weeds under control).

3. Bed 1: against carport - We removed 15' tall overgrown holly, added cobblestone border, gardenia (very happy), akebia growing up brick column, hydrangeas (should probably move - too much sun/heat in summer), acuba (definitely should move), zinnias in summer at far end. Full morning sun & mostly shaded by the carport in afternoon (except far end gets full sun all day).

4. Bed 2: in front of A/C near house - Added Chinese recurve privets to block A/C units but it's not providing as much coverage as we had hoped. Full sun all day.

5. Crepe myrtles - 1 established at edge of patio & 1 small new one at corner of house (full sun), 2 established along East side of house (shaded almost all day). All dark fuchsia flowers.