Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wonmokang

My front porch and need new plant ideas

WonmoKang
12 years ago

Hello Everyone,

I am in need of some help.

I am a newbie and the men who never had any interested in the plants.

I bought my first house Sep, 2011 and my house looked like this.

{{gwi:23413}}

I know nothing about the gardening, but it looks ugly.

So, I started with side wall of the house.

I planted 7 of Double Knockout Roses from Home Depot and transplanted the plants from front porch to side wall of my house.

{{gwi:23416}}

{{gwi:23418}}

I realized that there is too much space between the wall and the roses. So I did it again.

{{gwi:23420}}

{{gwi:23422}}

{{gwi:23424}}

{{gwi:23426}}

I finished the side and I need to plant something on the front porch.

{{gwi:23428}}

This porch became to this.

{{gwi:23430}}

However, I have no idea to pick right one.

The front porch is facing north and in full shade even in 2pm today.

I took a look at the neighbor's house and these plants looked nice to me. But I do not know what kind of plants those are.

{{gwi:23432}}

Do you have some idea for my porch? I want to have some full bloom hedge plants.

Please give me some advises.

Thank you for reading,

Wonmo Kang.

Comments (25)

• PRO
    Yardvaark
    12 years ago

I hate to tell you, but in your 3rd picture I think the roses were actually a little too close to the house. Now, they are WAY TOO CLOSE! Placing their centers at 30 or 36" away from the wall would be better. The hostas would be better used in blocks rather than in lines (which are in front of other lines.) Do I see English ivy growing on the house in the first picture? Even though you've removed it, be vigilant about fending off its return and keeping it off the wall. I love English ivy, but on a house it's asking for trouble. You'll need to define the shrub beds clearly, separating them from the grass, and install mulch. This will help dress things up and in controlling weeds