Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chris_gargs

bluestone steps ??

chris_gargs
10 years ago

Hello All,
This is my first post here and really first year getting involved in gardening and landscaping. My wife and I just bought our first house this past August and its our first spring in it. Needless to say I am very excited to get going. My question is, has anybody laid down bluestone steps on a dirt hillside. And if u have, what are some of the pointers you would give to a newbie. Thx

Comments (19)

• Suzi AKA DesertDance So CA Zone 9b
    10 years ago

I will say this, as a consumer like you. I am no designer, but I have opinions. Not sure what bluestone is, but I'm very sure designers here will NOT address your questions. They do not know what to do with a hill.... most of them. There are some.

Very few people live on hillsides. Most just have ordinary flat tract homes. Those are cake to landscape.

A hillside is a whole new ballgame. We own a huge hill. I call it a mountain! It goes down to a seasonal stream and then back up on the other side.

I suggest you post photos of your project, and let people chime in.

And you are in CT? so zone what?

We have so many steps put in by previous owners. Nothing matches, but I'm grateful for all of them and for my hiking staff.

Terraces and steps are in your future!

Suzi

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    10 years ago

Not sure what bluestone is, but I'm very sure designers here will NOT address your questions. They do not know what to do with a hill.... most of them. There are some.

Not sure why anyone would make such an outrageous statement!! Why wouldn't a designer know what to do with a hill?? And FWIW, a large part of SoCal is built on hillsides, not to mention scores of other locations, so the whole premise of this theory is in question.