Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
txmarti

A question for the pros

TxMarti
11 years ago

Do you measure out the entire yard and draw everything to scale on your design plan? If not, how do you figure how to place the smaller shrubs and perennials?

Comments (12)

• PRO
    Yardvaark
    11 years ago

The portion of the yard that is to be designed/constructed gets measured and drawn. To scale. Some small or insignificant things may not get drawn if they are unimportant, not needed, or have no affect on the work. It depends on what you mean by "everything." It sounds like you're concerned about something at your yard. Why not just say what it is?

• gyr_falcon
    11 years ago

Really, for us it depends upon the project (commercial, residential or personal), the scope (major hardscape, grade changes, size of project area) and the timing/installation phase.

For our personal home landscapes, the short answer is âÂÂNoâÂÂ. My husband and I have been doing this together for over 35 years. The plans are all done mentally now, with an exception for large irrigation systems. The yard is planned in stages, beginning with the overall general use locations (such as patio there, fountains, barbeque, shade trees, focal points, problems). Then designed by sections, with the overall plan in mind. This works because we are doing the work ourselves, in stages. But it also allows for a fair amount of flexibility for changes, without adversely affecting the master plan.