Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rodcorodco

Need alternate Sidewalk Material. Wood?

rodco
13 years ago

I have a series of 4 foot wide paths in my front yard landscape. The main sidwalk will be about 50 feet long and have several branches off of that to various parts of the garden. I had a concrete guy come and gave me a price of $5000 for regular 4" thick concrete (about (5 cu yds).

I am a carpenter by trade and figured I would build my own walk.. has anyone tried a wooden sidewalk? any photos?

Thanks

robert

Here is part of the area I am talking about.

{{gwi:24927}}

Comments (9)

• designshare
    13 years ago

I increase some village nature.

{{gwi:24929}}

• karinl
    13 years ago

Designshare should really not post first, it is very disconcerting to people who are new to the forum. At the same time, the idea of log rounds is certainly one way to use wood, though their tendency to be slippery has been commented on in this forum before. But the beauty of the form of your walk has certainly been missed in this case!

Slippery is always going to be an issue with wood, so whether it's a good idea depends to some degree on how you'd plan to finish the wood,and how you use the space. I mean, we have wood stairs, as many people do, and you can make those work with sand in the paint-type finish. But closer to the ground the wood will stay damper, hence will be more slippery and lifespan may be an issue.

So you'd need to keep it off the ground to keep it as dry as possible, and as such it's a type of deck installation you'd be doing, I think. Would look great. Would it work for daily use year-round? Maybe you don't go here in the snow. But if you do, or if you have to shovel... hmm.

Regarding frost heave, which I know nothing about, you'd probably need cement pads going down a ways.

KarinL

• designshare
    12 years ago