Return to the Landscape Design Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need help landscaping my front yard

Posted by NinjaKicks Indiana (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 8, 13 at 20:46

Hi,

It's getting to be that time of year, and I was looking for advice on planning out the landscaping in my front yard. I'm pretty new to landscape design (but not gardening), but wanted to do it myself, and was looking for ideas as to what plants to use, layout, etc.. I've attached a picture of the front of the house (I'll try and get some more to put up later). Thanks for your help guys.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need help landscaping my front yard

It would be good to post a picture that shows an overall view of the front yard from the street back. It's necessary to see some of what's outside the yard, at its sides. For wide lot, it's best to pan the camera (while remaining in the same position) to show the left, center and right views. (Don't make a panorama out of the photos because it distorts the image too much.) For doing your own design, you should also prepare a to-scale plan view sketch that shows all of the elements (house, walk, drive, trees, shrubs, etc.) that will remain.

o

I forgot to take some pictures today, but here's one I had on my harddrive taken from the street. Sorry, the front yard is big so it's hard to get a good shot of the front. You can see there's three mature maples in a triangle in front of the house (two on the left are directly behind one another). I'll see if I can post some better pictures from the sides.

o

Here's a better shot from the left (sorry, not sure how to upload more than one picture per post). The left side of the house could use some work too, I'll see if I can get a shot of it tomorrow.

o