Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thunder_dd87

front yard design help!

thunder_dd87
9 years ago

Greetings!

I purchased this home late last year, and am now looking to make it less of an eye sore. I'm completely new to this and have little to no knowledge about this kind of thing, so any advice would be appreciated.

The photos below are from different stages of removing the weeds and other plants. I plan to start completely over.
Toward the right of the house, I'm thinking about planting hedges, especially to cover the stained brick (drives me crazy). Thoughts on those? I have been drawn to more colorful shrubs.

In front of the porch and to the left, I have no clue what to do with this area. As mentioned earlier, colorful is great.

Suggestions on what I should plant?

Zone: 7
House faces SW.

Comments (16)

• thunder_dd87
    Original Author
    9 years ago

potential hedge area

• thunder_dd87
    Original Author
    9 years ago

front of the porch

• thunder_dd87
    Original Author
    9 years ago

left side

• PRO
    Yardvaark
    9 years ago

Please add the most important photo -- the one taken from farther back that shows the overall house face, some space at each end, and the whole front yard.

• emmarene9
    9 years ago

I think your potential hedge area does not have enough room for a hedge.

• thunder_dd87
    Original Author
    9 years ago

The hedge area is about 34" deep.
    I will post more photos tomorrow! thanks everyone.

• thunder_dd87
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Yardvaark, what did you mean when you said "some space at each end?"

I took a bunch of photos. My house is a corner lot, so it is sort of awkward. Thinking about planting trees or hedges along the fence line as well. All just in my head thus far.

• thunder_dd87
    Original Author
    9 years ago

another of the front.

This post was edited by thunder_dd87 on Thu, May 22, 14 at 20:33

• thunder_dd87
    Original Author
    9 years ago

closer view of the side.