Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carterfickling

[Design] Help a complete noob with a complete redo (with pics)

carterfickling
12 years ago

Hi, so, I have no idea what I'm doing, but I want to redesign the front lawn, because at this point, it doesn't work as a lawn, nor as a garden.

I have no design ideas, and am really stuck, but know that at the very least, we need some patiostones/rocks at the landing of the front steps.

The gardens themselves - would you go rock garden or perennials/annuals?

Would you extend the beds to the road (and how would you deal with the sloping ground? Would you edge the beds with something?

I welcome all ideas - trying to gather as many I can from the internet before tackling this as a project!

Thanks!!

[img]http://i.imgur.com/IvIo3.jpg[/img]

[img]http://i.imgur.com/FWvFf.jpg[/img]

[img]http://i.imgur.com/uH27Z.jpg[/img]

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:28211}}

Comments (14)

• mjjones453
    12 years ago

I would first start out with a path from the front steps, either flag stone, or brick. Have it lead to the sidewalk, or the driveway. I could only open the link, so can't tell about the slope.

• missingtheobvious
    12 years ago

Whether the path leads to the sidewalk or the driveway, at the base of the steps it should be the full width of the steps. (I think a path to the sidewalk is a better solution re. the landscaping.)

I'd plant something evergreen against the house to hide the foundation, then something flowering in front of that (yes, very traditional). If no evergreens against the house, then paint the foundation the same shade as the siding.

Due to the shallowness of the yard, eliminating the grass entirely is a possibility.

Links to all of the OP's photos:
    {{gwi:28211}}
    {{gwi:28214}}
    {{gwi:28216}}

• karinl
    12 years ago