Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
overgrowngrass

Hours of sun

OvergrownGrass
9 years ago

I'm completely new to landscaping and I literally know nothing about it. Home Depot said I needed to determine how many hours of sunlight each of my landscape areas will get in order to determine the type of plants that I should use (shade vs sun).

Since the sunlight time is constantly changing, am I supposed to use an average from the beginning of Spring through the end of Summer?

Also, between places like Home Depot and nurseries, which is generally the least expensive? I have SO much landscaping to do, and I really don't want to spend thousands of dollars. I have the front, back and sides to landscape between the house foundation and where the sod starts.

Comments (5)

• duluthinbloomz4
    9 years ago

Home Depot made it sound like determining the amount of sunlight an area gets is a difficult thing.

Just go outside and look at your proposed garden spots and see if areas are sunny, partially sunny (filtered through trees, etc.), shady - might take a minute or two throughout the day... in the morning, at noon, and late afternoon. Make brief notes if necessary.

Pictures would help; so would knowing which direction your house faces as well as your location/zone. Are you looking to plant trees, shrubs, blooming perennials, annuals - a combination of all? Plant tags tell you the conditions they require. Internet is loaded with info and people here on the forums are helpful with what they know and have experienced.

Some people shudder at the thought of purchasing plants from the Walmart, Home Depot or other big box parking lot garden centers. They are less expensive and in many cases well tended and healthy - as has been my experience here. You can kill an expensive plant from an exclusive nursery just as fast with improper preparation and planting.

It's daunting when you're new at it, but it should also be fun.

• OvergrownGrass
    Original Author
    9 years ago