Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rdas_gw

Help with front bed

rdas
9 years ago

Hello all, I'm new to landscaping and hoping to minimize the mistakes I make on my front bed. As you can see from the pictures all I have are 4 ilex, a japanese maple, a lipan crape myrtle and some liriope. The side of the house has endless summer hydrangea. I am going to move the liriope to follow the bed and am thinking of adding 5-7 dwarf white azalea to fill in the bed in a kind of "s" pattern. I was also thinkng of walkers low catmint under the crape myrtle. I'm not sure if this is a good start or not? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Also the lipan crape myrtle is light lavender so id like to keep the color scheme pretty simple with whites and purples.

Comments (11)

• rdas
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I wanted to share another picture I couldn't figure out how to post two !

• grapevinegal
    9 years ago

Hi rdas,

Beautiful home!
    What zone are you in? Until I know..please consider these suggestions with the grain on salt.

1. Since the Holly and the Azalea both have delicate leafs I would look for something with a bold leaf. This will add some textural contrast. Since you'll be using white azaleas, I'd suggest putting Hosta "Anne" in front of the azaleas. With it's colorful leaves- would tie in colors and add texture.

2) To make your entry "pop", I'd suggest using a bright green low growing plant underneath the Japanese Maple.
    ex: creeping sedum, creeping Jenny
    See Photo Below

Hope that helps

• rdas
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you so much. I'm in zone 7. I'm not tied to azaleas, but I'm trying it seems like every neighbor of mine has azaleas so I know they will do well ;). I love the idea of something under the japanese maple - I'm looking up the dlowers you suggested - thank you so much!!!

• grapevinegal
    9 years ago

Hi!

Zone 7...so many options!