Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
grullablue

Would LOVE ideas!

grullablue
16 years ago

I am new to choosing, planting, landscaping, etc. I am only learning what things are called and their requirements. My house is 6 years old and needs something along the foundation I think. It is on the north side of the house, gets some morning sun but that's it. We have a raised bed in front that my husband made, we are preparing to plant a hummingbird/butterfly mix in there, or, that's what I have done in the past. We plan to make this raised as well, to match what's already there. Will be three landscape timbers high. I would like something evergreen, perhaps, something that will give some visual interest thru the winter months as well. I'm just not sure what I want, and am having a hard time deciding! I have two emerald arborvitaes, one on each side of the garage door.... but nothing else planted anywhere else. I was thinking globe arborvitaes? Boxwoods? Had even thought barberry since I thought the color would go well with the gray house. (But I know best color is in full sun). I would love opinions, I am afraid we will go yet another year with nothing there....because I've agonized over this every year! I have photos, but do not know how to add them here, I have included a link. Thank you!!

Here is a link that might be useful: Foundation photos

Comments (24)

• grullablue
    Original Author
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Oh, and I'm sorry, I am in south central WI just outside of Madison...I believe I am about on the line where zone 4 and 5 meet.

• barefootinct
    16 years ago