Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amyinalabama

Pictures of a mixed border for privacy & to hide a fence?

amyinalabama
16 years ago

One side of our yard has a 200 foot long chain link fence (put in by previous owner) and I'm going for 2 things -- privacy and hiding the ugly thing! I was going to plant hedges (no vines because it's only 4 foot high and the neighbors could still see over) but I've read here that I shouldn't plant the same thing along the entire length. That's fine in theory but I can't see it in my head. How do I plant different things and make it look nice? (yes, I am a newbie at this stuff). Does anyone have pictures to share?

Thanks!

Comments (10)

• Embothrium
    16 years ago

For some pictures

Here is a link that might be useful: Mixed Borders

• Saypoint zone 6 CT
    16 years ago

There's no reason you can't plant the same thing along the entire length if the look you want is a hedge, rather than a shrub border.

A formal hedge would be shrubs that are trimmed, possibly evergreens. An informal hedge would be created with plants that have a pleasing natural shape, and they would be allowed to grow naturally, or with a snip here and there to maintain a neat shape or control size. It can be all the same kind of shrub, or a mix of evergreen and deciduous shrubs that would either bloom at different times, or provide year round foliage color, or interesting seasonal changes.

It all depends on what look you're after. The style of your house and surrounding neighborhood might suggest which look would be right, or you can just go with your personal preference.

I would see if your library has books on shrubs, maybe check out the shrub forum, and search the web for articles and information on hedges or shrub borders.

• spazzycat_1
    16 years ago

Here's a pic of a screen we planted that's been successful for us. Behind this screen is a trampoline and a wire fence that is draped with all kinds of junk. You'd never know.