Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
woodswalker88

Too much lawn

woodswalker88
12 years ago

I moved to a house that has about 1/2 acre of lawn. The neighbors spend ALL their time on their riding mowers. Meanwhile I don't want to use a power mower because it is bad for the planet. We have been using a hand mower but we are exhausted with that.

I want to eliminate as much lawn as possible and convert it to garden (I'm a newbie at that too.)

What's the best /quickest/easiest way to get rid of lawn grass WITHOUT using herbicide? (I don't believe in that...it's bad for the planet.)

Comments (21)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

You won't want to use a sod cutter cuz that's a hefty piece of gas powered equipment so must be bad for the planet. You could layer the area with newspapers and then mulch, but bringing in enough mulch (not to mention all those papers) to cover half an acre would require a large dump truck or three, so THAT'S gonna be bad for the planet too. And once you've managed to kill off all that lawn, you are going to need to replant with something and that means trips to the nursery or garden center......bad for the planet. Not to mention wasting all that water keeping it alive!!

The point is.....you're going to have to make some compromises along the route regardless of what you do. Unless you let it go back to nature.

Unfortunately, despite our best intentions, humans are bad for the planet. You just need to evaluate your lifestyle and your environmental consciousness and figure out how to blend them to minimize the impact.

• missingtheobvious
    12 years ago

Make a large veggie garden; you can tell yourself that's good for the planet -- but gardengal's trade-offs will apply there also. However, the veggies will be fresher than store-bought, and will taste wonderful -- and you'll have a sense of accomplishment (when not feeling fate, bugs, fungus, and the weather are out to get you).