Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ky2011

HELP - I need ideas for landscaping front yard

KY2011
10 years ago

Hello,
We just built a new house in Michigan (zone -5), and are getting ready for landscaping. However, we have a very basic idea where to start. I am writing this message to seek the opinion and advice of the experts in this forum.

To start with,
1. To hide the concrete at front of the porch, we were thinking of planting some 2feet tall boxwoods, and some perennials in front of it.
2. In the place between porch and driveway (20 feet x 8 feet), we were thinking of doing the same (boxwood and perennials)
3. Plant a couple of Japanese Lilac trees in the front by the street for ornamental purposes.

We would greatly appreciate if anyone could share their opinions on how to shape the yard under a decent budget.

Thank you for your time.

Comments (14)

• dani_plus_2
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I'm no expert, but you're going to need bigger beds to go with the size of your home. Since you are in MI, I'd you a mix of conifers, a japenese maple for display, maybe a nice dogwood pagoda on the left side of your house to bring down the scale, and a mix of siberian iris, black eyed susans, comsmos and some daylilies that bloom and diferent times (Ithink groups ofthree ). Living in WI I've learned the hardy plants and that repition with a specimin thrown in seems to be the best for our areas. Good luck and check out lots of pics....it will help you, big time!

• dani_plus_2
    10 years ago

Dbl post sorry

This post was edited by dani_plus_2 on Mon, May 27, 13 at 7:29

• sunnyca_gw
    10 years ago