Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
redthreaddiy

Desperately Need Front Lawn Landscaping Help

redthreaddiy
12 years ago

I have been attempting to plan a garden for 2 years in the front of my house. I can't seem to get anything to look right. The front of my house is partial shade, getting about 4 hours of sun a day.

Here is what my garden looks like right now:

{{gwi:32958}}{{gwi:32959}}

It's flat, boring, I have no shrubs.

Since it's partial shade, it's tough.

Here are the plants I have in the driveway in pots, that can tolerate shade:

Bleeding Hearts (1 Dwarf, 1 White, 1 Pink)

Azalea 'Girard's Pleasant White'

Various Hostas

Lily of the Valley

Hellebore

Pink Flowering Quince

On the far left of the photo, I would like to get Dogwood 'Isanti'.

Different Columbines

I attempted to place all of these items in my garden planner, but it's still looking off.

Does anyone have any suggestions? I'm going crazy! Feel free to toss out my idea completely, and come up with your own. Any shrubs that would do well in part shade? I really need to fill this garden out. I feel so embarrassed to call it mine. I have a ridiculous amount of plants, but not many for part shade.

The photo below shows my most recent plan. Each square is 1 foot.

{{gwi:32960}}
To view the photo larger, copy and paste this link into your browser: http://www.flickr.com/photos/redthreaddiy/5681724901/sizes/l/in/photostream/

Thanks so much, I just can't seem to get my layout looking to my liking. I'm willing to buy new plants. We are cutting out more sod next weekend to give it the 'curve'. Thanks again.

Comments (9)

• frankielynnsie
    12 years ago

Can you put in a few photos from more of a distance so we can see the surrounding area? Do you not want foundation 'bones'-- the background evergreens/shrubs/dwarf trees that tie the house to the ground and offer year round interest? The large blank wall area in photo 1 needs something larger and more visually permanent than perennials.