Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lizzie_nh

Landscaping front of basic Cape-style home

lizzie_nh
13 years ago

Okay, I have been wrestling with a landscaping problem for a couple years now, and have just found this forum and hope someone can help. I simply do not know how to landscape the front of my house in anything more than the most simplistic way. Sorry, this post is kind of long.

I will post pictures if someone can tell me how - I know the photos will help a lot.

Here are the details of the house and its surroundings. My house is a basic Cape - symmetrical in design, with the front door in the center, two windows on either side of the front door, and two dormers on the second storey. The front door is raised up maybe 3'-4' from the ground, so there is a front porch that goes up several steps. Right now, this is your basic builder-grade pressure-treated wooden porch with railings. (We may or may not replace this.) There is also quite a lot of foundation showing because of how high that first floor sits off the ground. There is no side addition like some capes have - it's a basic rectangular house, with white siding, black shutters, red front door.

The lot is a large rural lot with about 10 acres, mostly wooded. The house is set back maybe 150' from the road, with a gravel driveway (flanked by woods) that slopes down quite a bit to meet the house. The land continues to slope beyond the house, so the back of the house appears to be 3 storeys, with a walk-out basement. There is a back deck on the first floor (appears to be second floor) and a large grassy area out back and to the right side of the house. This is all surrounded by woods, and the woods are criss-crossed with old New England stone walls, some of which are visible from the yard.