Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mamma2max

new house, neglected yard and beds

mamma2max
17 years ago

I just bought a new house that has been empty for over 2 years. I have no experience in gardening other than vegetable gardening as a kid in the country. I've got a couple of beginner books and am extremely excited about getting started. The problem is that it's now June and I'm under the impression this is the worst time to do anything other than prepping soil. The back yard has many tall, fairly unshady trees with a couple of medium sized, borderless clumps of unidentified flowers and weeds. The house faces north and has a large front bed heavily shaded by trees. There are also 2 good sized box beds built into the house by the door (hip level) and in the window (approx 1 ft. above ground level). This is all extremely shady, and stays pretty damp, with nothing but old mulch. The side bed, by the garage, gets lots of sun but is infested with ivy that I've been trying to pull out for days. It had taken over the house and, because of the damage to the brick, I would like to completely get rid of it. Any suggestions on what to do to at least make the boxes & beds look decent for the rest of the summer? Oh, and I do have day lilies scattered throughout the shrubs along the side and back that I guess I can dig up and move? although they are huge and basically fallen flat to the ground right now with no blooms. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Comments (7)

• maro
    17 years ago

To begin, search 'ivy' on this forum - there are posts about getting rid of ivy.

Searching 'shade plants' on this or other forums will give you lots to read. Somewhere in there I found this:

"Posted by: saypoint 6b CT (My Page) on Tue, Apr 18, 06 at 16:26