Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nhbaskets_gw

Help with steep front lawn design

nhbaskets
10 years ago

X post from the hillside forum. I'm new to the Garden Forum so finding my way around.

We have been in our home on the hill for 19 years. Two years ago we finally has a fieldstone stairway installed to the front door that no one ever used. Amazing how many more kids we get at Halloween now!

We're getting up in age and are looking to transform our steep front lawn to a no/low maintenance garden. When DH was mowing this, needed to wear cleats. Riding mower can't handle the hill. We have trees down below which provide shade for most of the day. From the picture below, you can see the top part near our house gets some sun...about 6 hours per day.

Would love to terrace, however, it's not in the budget. I'm thinking shrubs, hostas, and groundcover. As i said, I'm new to the Garden Forum, spending most of my time over on the Home side. I guess you could call me an inside person.

Any suggestions would be gratefully appreciated.

{{gwi:37266}}

{{gwi:37267}}

Comments (3)

• catkim
    10 years ago

Grass is low maintenance compared to keeping weeds out of a hillside covered in shrubs.

I once saw a lawn on a slope in Italy that was essentially formed as a series of ramps in zig-zag up the hill, completely mowable. There were some parts with low retaining walls, but not much.

One wonders what sort of equipment is used to mow the steep hillsides of Forest Lawn Memorial Park in Glendale? Anyone know? Maybe it's a question of splurging on the right equipment, or paying for a monthly service.

I'd consider my budget against every possible option before digging up the hill to plant a garden that will have its own maintenance issues.

• nandina
    10 years ago