Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wifisker

Ideas to replace spirea (pics!)

Jess TKA
12 years ago

Hi everyone.

I'll be the first to admit I'm a novice gardener and I'm terrible at landscape design. I know what I like when I see it but I can never seem to replicate it, or I over-crowd because it all looks so bare and small when the plants are still scrawny.

Anyway, last summer I transplanted a couple princess spirea shrubs from the front of the house where they were crowded to the side of the house where it's south facing and they have more room. They didn't do so well and although they both have new leaves they look awful so I plan to dig them out and put something new and more full in their spots. Ideally something with a little color.

The link includes pics. The two spirea I'd take out are mostly sticks (one looks better than the other.) They're surrounded by russian sage, sedum, golden pillar barberry, red twig dogwood and a weigela (wine and roses maybe?) further down the side of the house a few feet away. They were all planted just last summer so they're still kind of sparse.

Any ideas for what to put in the spots where I take out the spirea OR any other suggestions for this mess? :) Thank you!

Here is a link that might be useful: Side of house landscape photos

Comments (10)

• Jess TKA
    Original Author
    12 years ago

If it helps any, I've been looking at neon flash spirea, Invincibelle hydrangea or potentilla as possibilities. I'm not committed to any of them if you have better suggestions. Pretty pleeeaaase.

• trovesoftrilliums
    12 years ago

Hmm...my reply to this disappeared.

Basically, taller, more upright plants would probably look better here than the mounding type plants you have and are considering. You have a lot of exterior wall space below your window, and some vertical plants would give a more pleasing look whereas mounding shrubs down low will tend to emphasis the expanse of wall.