Return to the Landscape Design Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
No gutters and need some ideas. I am new to all of this...

Posted by micga CT (My Page) on
Wed, Jun 7, 06 at 22:44

I am new to this forum so please forgive the basic question. Our house does not have gutters and we do not plan on getting gutters in the future. As a result, there are a few areas where the rain comes off of the roof and really pounds on the graound. The pitch is away from the house so water does not flow toward the foundation. In the areas that the water hits, I am thinking of putting some small rock beds as "water catchers". Does anyone have any suggestions on the type/size of rock to use, any plantings that I could do in the rock bed or edging to dress it up, etc. Any pictures would be great.

Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: No gutters and need some ideas. I am new to all of this...

Why don't you plan to add gutters to your house?

o

We don't have gutters on our house either and one thing I can say, unless your yard slopes quite steeply away from the house you will get a snow mountain under the eaves in the winter. This may not be the same problem for you depending on what your house is made of (we have wood siding that the snow starts to slump and freeze against if we do not shovel - we have had to replace the whole back side of our house this past year as the wood was rotted through in places almost to the interior walls from 30 years of this kind of thing) but I would highly recommend some sort of material that you can shovel rather than small rocks. We've put a bluestone patio on one side of our house, in part to make snow removal easier and will be putting down a bluestone walkway with drainage underneath on the other for this purpose.

On the upside, we've never had our roof damaged from ice dams backing up from the gutters!

o