Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
swanoir

Design challenge: specimen tree

swanoir
12 years ago

We recently lost our beloved maple to verticillium wilt and are looking for another specimen tree to replace it. We wanted to put in a redbud tree, since we have one at the back of our house that is beautiful, but unfortunately redbuds are not resistant to verticillium wilt. We live in a Zone 5 area (central WA), the soil is slightly alkaline, this site gets morning light only (until the tree gets larger than the house)

I contacted a nursery, which suggested the following verticillium wilt resistant choices, which I have annotated with potential issues (but then may not since I have little experience):

Cercidiphyllum Heronswood Globe - size

Sorbus aucuparia - size, flowers malodorous, likes acidic soil

Betula nigra Fox Valley/Little King - likes moist acidic soil, more shrub-like

Malus Velvet Pillar - highly susceptible to apple scab, potentially messy, does best in full sun.

We would really appreciate any feedback or any other suggestions for a specimen tree. We tried a larch in this spot, but that didn't really work.

Thanks!

{{gwi:38274}}

Comments (11)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    12 years ago

You don't indicate what size tree you are looking for and your list of suggestions contains a range ;-) And are there any other particular attributes you are looking for....shade for house, fall color, flowering, etc?

FWIW, I'm not sure selecting a focal tree for your front yard is necessarily a 'design' challenge - it's just tree selection. Posting this same query on the Trees forum will generate many responses from which to choose.

• farmgirlinky
    12 years ago

Stewartia pseudocamelia can thrive close to the house, with only part sun or shade, and has winter interest (beautiful bark) as well as camelia-like flowers in late June/July: a wonderful tree. Amelancher?

Lynn

• swanoir
    Original Author
    12 years ago