Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sleepy33

A makeover and privacy

sleepy33
13 years ago

Hello all! I'm a newbie to this forum, but have spent a fair bit of time over on the Growing from Seed forum. I'm hoping you all can offer some advice. We are moving next month to a new house; the owner has recently gutted and remodeled it, and then decided she wanted to go live abroad for awhile. So, lucky us, a beautiful rental house. She hasn't done anything with the yard, nor has any desire to do so/preference about what's done, and has given me carte blanche to do what I want. I have a fairly good plan for the backyard, but the front and side yards I'm still up in the air about. Here are the two photos I have for now; I will try to run by and get some more soon.

Front Yard:

{{gwi:38549}}

Side yard:

{{gwi:38550}}

So it's an older home, but she's remodeled it with some cool, modern touches. For example, she's put shiny, unfinished galvanized siding on the dormer windows. Inside, she has cork floors and stainless steel countertops. I want to try to pull off some interesting, outside-the-box landscaping to coordinate. In the backyard, I'm planning some raised beds made from galvanized siding, and an old stock tank with the bottom cut out.

For the front yard (first photo), I've been toying with the idea of ditching the lawn entirely, and filling the area with ferns, hostas, native grasses and the like. It's pretty heavily shaded by two mature trees in the median between the curb and sidewalk. Faces south, but really the yard proper doesn't ever get any direct light, just filtered through the trees. I have toyed with the idea of doing 4ft horizontal fence panels along the front of the yard with built-in planter boxes, staggered in a checkerboard fashion. Inspired by this:

{{gwi:38551}}