Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lemmie_gw

drainage in garden bed near house

lemmie
12 years ago

I'm a total newbie to owning property and gardening. Sorry if this is a silly question.

There is brick-edged bed built about 2'-3' away from the house's foundation. The level of soil on the house side is slightly lower than on the outside of the bed.

Here's a pic:

{{gwi:38661}}

I'm worried that rain and moisture gets trapped in the bed near the foundation rather than draining away from the house. There's a sump pump in the basement, so water has been a problem for past owners. Is this a real problem or am I being paranoid?

Should I remove the brick edging? If so, how would I go about removing the mortared brick? I would ultimately like to get rid of the grass and plant more edibles, though I know its a long ways away.

Thanks to anyone and everyone with advice!

Comments (8)

• bahia
    12 years ago

More likely the drainage problem is due to Downspouts emptying too close to the house and/or general subsurface water all around the house, not just at this one side. You may need to add an extensive system of French drains as well as add gutters and Downspouts that take water well away from the house. I'd start with looking at water coming off the roof first.

• sunnyca_gw
    12 years ago

Are the rafters in basement stained from water? The plants they have along the house are not big water users so they got that right. You can't see where that drain ends at the right of the pic. I should end out past the bush by adding an extension, there are different types, flexible & rigid. If you ever do dig up that area slant the dirt out away from house (highest by foundation going lower as go into yard, better for plants too as they shouldn't sit in water.

• missingtheobvious
    12 years ago