Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joeschmoe80

never hired a landscaper, some questions

joeschmoe80
11 years ago

OK - so I have, for the first time in my life, a home with an acre of land. The landscaping is lacking due to it being a new construction foreclosure (the home itself was done, but then the builder threw down grass seed, plunked down 2 Autumn Blaze maples, and called it a day).

I want to hire a landscaper, but I want input on not only plant selections, but plant sources, at least to some degree. My limited experience with landscaping companies is that they don't always plant the species they tell you they were planting...so I want to order some of the specific trees I want (I want Cedrus, and some other rareish selections, the kind of stuff Forestfarm sells).

Are there landscapers in the central Ohio area willing to work with me?

I basically need their creativeness, as I'm not good at designing layouts etc, but being able to choose at least some of the specific plants I want, and possibly have a decent amount of involvement actually planting them.

If someone could design on paper, and maybe do any of the construction type work involved (things like bricks, pavers, digging out beds, etc) and let me actually plant the plants, that would be ideal...

This might be a stupid post, but I've never done this before!

Comments (24)

• Mike Larkin
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Maybe you need a landscape designer. They will charge you a fee to create a landscape plan. A landscape contractor usually wants to do design, buy the plants and do the installation. Some contractors are great at install, but not so great at design. Not alwasy true, but !, just my experience.