Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
usmc0302

Disappearing Vase Fountain HELP

usmc0302
12 years ago

I want to install a disappearing vase fountain in our yard and need some assistance as this is my first attempt at this project. In particular:

1) Where can I find an alternative basin to the standard fountain basins that are sold in garden centers -- for a plastic bucket and grill, they run about $200 which seems unreasonable??

2) I want to use a tall thin vase style -- perhaps something roughly 48" in height. What size pump and basin would I need?? The water will, hopefully, not splash too much away from the base of the vase.

Thanks in advance for any assistance you can provide!!!

Comments (6)

• catkim
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

A very small pump should be fine, but the trick will be to find the stem tall enough for a 48" vase.

I made a pot fountain with a large Vietnamese pot, and it was a struggle to get all the parts together and make them work. For instance, I'm on my second pump, and it's sitting in the water on an inverted clay pot to get the height right. If I were going to do this again, I would buy a pre-made fountain kit.

As far as splashing water, there will be some, but you can adjust the flow of water through the pump and you can also adjust the spout to spray more or just bubble.

• pam29011
    12 years ago

Catkim - you've gotten farther than I have. I bought the pot (with no hole) and a pitcher (with a hole in the bottom for the tubing) to make a fountain. That was about a year ago. And that's as far as I've gotten. I think eventually I will just give up and buy a premade kit. There are so many calculations and variables (how many feet of head, diameter of the tubing, rate of flow, loss of water due to splashing & evaporation, etc). It seems there are 95 ways to get it wrong for each way to get it right.

I sound math-phobic, you'd never know I'm an engineer in real life, LOL! I think I just hate plumbing.