Return to the Landscape Design Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
I'm stuck! #2 With pictures of complete front yard.

Posted by huntergpt 7 (My Page) on
Thu, Jul 8, 10 at 15:05

All suggestions (plants, designs, what to keep, what to add,etc...)are appreciated. I'm a beginner and would like to have low-maintenance flowerbeds.

Right side: Full sun-DKO roses with Speedwells
Carpet rose at the corner of lawn. Will put lamppost there.

Left side: Partial sun-river birch, gardenia, compact holly with hostas and impatients

Vitex in mid of lawn

On porch, a 2.5ft X 2ft container- hoping to put a dwarf evergreen as an anchor.

Many thanks.

Here is a link that might be useful: http://www.flickr.com/photos/51820848@N05/

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: I'm stuck! #2 With pictures of complete front yard.

I think the DKO roses will be OK on the left side too, but will that be too "rosey"? Is it OK for the 2 sides not to be similar (symmetrical)?

o

Here's a home that's similar to yours. At least it's a good visual..........

Here is a link that might be useful: landscape

o

I don't think symmetry matters, either from a big picture perspective, because of the garage, the tree on one side, and other differences, nor on the smaller scale because you don't experience the property symmetrically - you don't come up a walk up the centre, but rather in from the side.

I think the photo Annz linked to is quite useful as it addresses something I'd change about your home - all your landscaping is somewhat crammed up against the house. Since the yard is quite commodious, it isn't clear why this is, other than that foundation planting is just "done" a lot so it's what people gravitate to. The Vitex is a start at addressing this, and I would personally do way more there, or on the other side, than at the foundation.