Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
seanneryop

Small area by garage, no good ideas

seanneryop
11 years ago

Hi guys! This is my first time posting so I apologize in advance if I'm doing something wrong!

I've got a patch of dirt in this area, and I have no idea what to do with it. We planted those flowers there last year as a placeholder but we figured its time we do something with the place. I was thinking about putting some manzanitas that would become trees there, but I wasn't sure how to place them or if that would end up looking terrible or not. Anyone have any suggestions? (The flower can be taken out, they're just their so it won't look empty)

Comments (4)

• catkim
    11 years ago

Hello seanneryop. For anyone to give you useful advice, you will have to cough up a little more information. For one, your climate. CA is a big state, please help out and either give us a USDA zone, or a Sunset zone, or a location.

Next up, manzanita and bird of paradise don't seem a match. One of those is going to grow while the other languishes -- that brings us back to the climate description, please. :-)

Next, and sorry if this sounds picky, but your photo doesn't show us much. Is that your front door at the end of the concrete pathway? Where is the street? Where are north, south, east, and west? Are your neighbors 2 ft. outside the photo frame, or 1/4 of a mile distant? Context is very useful. If possible, please add a photo of your entire house from the street.

Lastly, what was it about Manzanita that made you like it? Are you looking for privacy? Was it the form or color that attracted you? Please expand on the look you want, or purpose for this bed. If there were no purpose, it could be grass, right? Presumably, you want something more than grass. Please expand on the topic.

• PRO
    Yardvaark
    11 years ago