Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shelzmike_gw

Complete Beginner Here - Retaining Wall Ideas

shelzmike
13 years ago

Hello! First let me start out by saying that I am completely new to landscaping, besides mowing grass and digging some holes here and there for various things! Anyhow, we have lived in our cozy home for about 6 years now and embarassingly enough I have not really done much to make it look nice outside. I mow and whatnot, but there is a lot of work to be done. I had not done anything because to be honest, we were not planning on living there too long, but looks like we are here at least for a while and have plans to remodel the inside and so I wanted the outside to look good as well. Plus I am looking for another hobby to do with the family (This would be me, my lovely wife, and three kids - 12, 11, and 3).

I have already started on a few small things, and I am sure you will all see me here frequently with many questions!

Let me also say that we are working with a small budget for the time being while my wife and I both finish our degrees and while I am the only one really working.

That being said, the first thing that I have a question about has to do with a very ugly retaining wall that I have to see every day. Our house is built into a hill and our house is actually lower in elevation than the road. When they built the house in 1943, they used a 4 foot tall retaining wall to hold back the street essentially. :)

It is plain concrete - flat and ugly and looks like a sidewalk stood up on its side! My first thought was to simply use rocks on the oustide of the wall to have a much better look. This would be a fine idea it is just we do not have the money to spend. I could do the work myself, but wanted to go another route that is cheaper. (Sorry I do not have any pictures by the way - I cannot seem to find any that I have taken of the ugly wall!).