Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eagleidaho

New build. New gardener. Need advice please.

eagleidaho
9 years ago

Hey! I'm building a home in eagle Idaho (basically boise Idaho). Supposedly its zone 6 but people that live here say to treat it like a zone 5. I'm a gardening novice and am hoping to have a front yard that looks respectable from the road but isn't too much maintenance. I'd like to use the back yard to experiment more with gardening as my skills improve. Up front I don't want anything too tall in front of the porch area because I've enjoyed sitting on my front porch in my current home and don't want it to feel like a cave. I'm thinking something simple like hosta or day lilies. Maybe some shrubs of sorts. I'm not sure. It's a west facing front yard so the hosta may burn. Anyway. Any suggestions would be great.

Comments (11)

• eagleidaho
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Footprint of the home. The walkway is what the builder is suggesting.

• eagleidaho
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thinking something like this...

• eagleidaho
    Original Author
    9 years ago

or this?

• PRO
    Yardvaark
    9 years ago

I know this isn't in concert with your vision, but you might find some useful ideas in it regardless. It's not about what plants you should use, but about general scheme.

• eagleidaho
    Original Author
    9 years ago