Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kitchendesign_gw

How to make concrete columns

kitchendesign
17 years ago

I would like to build concrete columns on either side of a courtyard gate as part of the hardscaping.

I have never worked with concrete before. The columns are 8'' diameter and 10 ft tall. I looked at Home Depot/ Lowe's and all their concrete forms are 4' or 6' tall. Do you stack two together? Do you tape/ staple them to each other?

I will put rebar but how many per column? (These are decorative, non weight bearing columns). Do I need to tie the rebar circumferentially? Thank you

Comments (14)

• bindersbee
    17 years ago

I'm not sure how to answer your question technically (maybe someone else can) but how exactly do you plan to keep them from toppling? Even if they are non weight bearing, they'll be heavy enough to seriously injure someone should they fall. At the height you want, you'll need a footing to place them on I would think. You'd probably also need to pour in place? When you mention forms at Home Depot, are you talking about the cardboard-like tubes they make for footings?

The other issue is that concrete must be mixed just right in order to have proper strength and finish. A column is probably not a starter project. I would recommend that you do cast stepping stones or some other small project first so you can get a feel for the medium and how to get a proper mix.

In all honesty, I don't think it's something you should take on yourself (this from a consumate do-it-yourselfer). My Lowe's offered fiberglass (looks like cast stone) columns for around $100 each. By the time you get everything you need to do them yourself and spend money practicing, you'll have spent that much. If your homemade columns don't work out, the money will have been wasted.

• bindersbee
    17 years ago