Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
loribug26

What would you do with this??

Hi all,
I'm new to this part of GW. I frequented the building part of it while building our new home. Information absolutely invaluable!!

Now that we are moved in, and trying to get things done outside, I'm struggling with landscaping. I don't want much honestly, but I want it to look nice.

What my biggest question is, what would you do with the "transition" from concrete porch to yard? I don't want bushes!! I love ornamental grasses, but don't want anything to obscure our view when sitting on the porch.
We congregate on the porch often, and step off of it anywhere along the front. For now we've just decided to leave it. Concrete to grass.
I'm considering landscape stones as a transition but I don't want edging. Would this be a problem?
What would you do?? Here are a few pictures...

Thank you for your time!
Lori

Comments (9)

• Lori Wagerman_Walker
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Another picture. :)

• catkim
    9 years ago

Well-tended green grass will be lowest maintenance, walkable, and no obscuring the view. Why make it more complicated. Resist the urge to perimeter-plant. Maybe strategically place a couple of extra-large pots (much larger than the one on the walkway) with spilling plants.

• PRO
    Yardvaark
    9 years ago

what's on the other side of the berm?

Would be good to say something about you needs, wants & parameters.

• Lori Wagerman_Walker
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Berm? There is only house, dirt/weeds/grass, then soybean field. oh... wait. I think in the first picture it does look like it is a solid grass, or dam. That's soybeans on a small, rolling hill. I'm sorry!

Needs, wants, parameters....

ha :) I need it to be low maintenance, want it to look nice. :) I'm limiting myself to ornamental grasses, day lilies, hostas & bulbs that take care of them selves. A gardener I am not.