Return to the Landscape Design Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What would we be getting ourselves into?

Posted by robotropolis none (My Page) on
Mon, Aug 26, 13 at 15:08

Hi all,

First off, this is not my house. This is a cottage we are considering buying and I was wondering if you guys thought it might be more trouble than it is worth?

We are looking for a cottage in Nova Scotia, and this one that we like has quite a steep lot down to the lake (I think that's one reason it's in our price range).

Personally I have little experience living with a steep slope like this. Do you think it's going to be a huge pain in the patoot--I mean, wallet--to work with a lot such as this?

Needs: to be able to get kayaks and kids in and out of the water. No gardening or lawn. No wheelchair access. No motorboat (although I can't swear the husband wouldn't want some dinghy with an outboard in the future).

I'm not looking forward to tumbling down ar&$-over-teakettle with a kayak on my head so would want to make a fairly safe path down.

Any thoughts on what people usually do with lots like this? Thanks for any feedback you can provide, I really appreciate it!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What would we be getting ourselves into?

From the pictures it doesn't look too bad. Why not put a storage area near the dock that way you don't have to lug kayaks down the hill more than one time - to get them to the storage area.

o

• Posted by bahia SF Bay Area (My Page) on
    Mon, Aug 26, 13 at 19:05

Also, a pathway doesn't have to be a straight shot down the hill, but could switchback across the slope to minimize the slope; think a downhill series of s-curve ski tracks to help visualize the pathway. It doesn't look all that steep from the photos, what is the rise compared to run?

o