Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kgibbins_gw

Flower bed around tree?

kgibbins
14 years ago

Hi everyone! I'm new to the landscape forum.

We just purchased a house and are fixing it up. Next up, is the landscaping.

Do you have any ideas for the front beds? And do you think it would look nice to add a bed around the big tree in the front yard? What about the big space in between the two windows?

{{gwi:45158}}

Thank you kindly!

Comments (17)

• duluthinbloomz4
    14 years ago

That's a very beautiful tree, old and stately. It does not need the kind of enhancement a "tree ring" is all too often thought to provide.

That being said, I don't know about the variety of landscaping choices you have in Texas.

But, the shrubbery all along the front seems to be a bit small to be effective. What's already there? Looking to rip it out and start over or simply add more to the mix? Looking for color, or more height here and there, or just a little more bulk?

I'm usually loathe to ask - when the post is about landscaping - but would you consider putting some color on your front door?

• kgibbins
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you for your feedback. And YES!!! I just installed that new door last week and do plan to paint it, but I'm not sure what color to choose - red, black, another color?

The landscaping along the front of the house is, well, here you can see it... before we painted the house grey.

{{gwi:45159}}

• cyn427 (z. 7, N. VA)
    14 years ago

I love your house-maybe because it is similar to ours-lol. Not sure about what to grow in Texas, but we painted our house the same color as yours and did the door a dark purple. It looks great and a little different from all those reds and blacks everywhere else. Then, you can play up the color in your garden with blues, purples, pinks and whites.

• kgibbins
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Dark purple is an interesting idea. Do you remember what specific color/brand it was?

• karinl
    14 years ago