Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
junebug09

Landscape Design Plan

junebug09
10 years ago

What is a reasonable fee for a landscape design plan? The first quote came in at $750.00. This was from a well known firm in the Charlotte area.

Comments (9)

• jim_1 (Zone 5B)
    10 years ago

I am not good at judging professional's fees. However, you can ask any quality business for 3 names of clients. Follow through and find out if those clients felt that the fee was appropriate (after it was over).

Jim

• marcinde
    10 years ago

Depends on scope of work. My design fees have generally ranged from $600-3500 this year, but every designer and region is different.

• laag
    10 years ago

The "reasonable fee" is directly proportional to how much you value this particular designer to design your particular job under the terms that the designer has laid out to you.

What someone else might charge is totally irrelevant.

• rsingley
    10 years ago

I'm not sure I agree that what one pays is irrelevant or not. I am in a similar situation in that I too am looking for a landscape architect to "design" my entire property. Having ZERO experience I did not know whether this was a $750 project, a $2000 project or a $7,500 project. After some on-line research I believe I've come to the conclusion that what I am looking for from a quality landscape architect is going to run between $1,000 and $2,500 depending on which firm I choose and the extent of the work.

When I finally get my prices I will be sure to come back and let you know.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    10 years ago

Certainly fees will vary with the region and they also vary widely with the skill, experience and reputation of the designer. It's not that the fees are irrelevant, it is that their relevance is based on context. And since this opinion is coming from practicing landscape designers (3 of us responding), it is safe to assume it is true :-)