Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tamarash_gw

Small, sloped, north facing front yard.

Tamarash
11 years ago

I have struggled for a while about what to do with my front yard. I really want to get rid of the grass and just have plants, but I am no designer! We use our porch regularly so it would be nice to have a good looking yard. I would really appreciate suggestions. Thank you.

Comments (8)

• adriennemb2
    11 years ago

Hee, you just know that someone is going to say to limb up that boulevard tree...

• PRO
    Yardvaark
    11 years ago

When sitting on your porch, do you wish to have a feeling of privacy such that the view of the street life and activity seems disconnected?

• PRO
    Yardvaark
    11 years ago

Adrienne, what on earth makes you think that...??

:-)

• Tamarash
    Original Author
    11 years ago

We are not looking for privacy. We often sit on our porch and talk to our neighbors. We have a very social block.

• Tamarash
    Original Author
    11 years ago

We know we will have to cut back the tree but have hesitated as our city can fine you for doing a bad job. It is definitely on the "to do" list. Thanks for the reminder!

Here is a side view if it helps. Thanks for taking time to look at my yard. I really appreciate it.

• PRO
    Yardvaark
    11 years ago

OK then, I'm suggesting that you seriously begin forming that tree into the one you wish to have in the future. Allowing it to have it's own way while young does not produce the finest adult trees. I can already see the sneaky little s#*+ trying to get one over on you. In your mind, what do you wish it to be like twenty years from now? Maybe you could offer a photo of a mature tree in a similar setting that appeals to you. ? It will be, after all, a major element in your landscape scheme.

(I haven't said it yet! Trying to build suspense.)

• Tamarash
    Original Author
    11 years ago