Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jb_989

Principles of landscape design for ranch style homes

jb989
15 years ago

I am fairly new to landscaping and own a ranch style home. Are there any general principles/guidelines to follow for planning a landscape for this style of home?

The only one I've found so far is that placing smaller trees at corners of the house can make it seem taller in relation to its length.

Thanks.

Comments (34)

• inkognito
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

The principles of landscape design are the same regardless of the style of the house. The most effective way for you to get your head around how to tackle your particular situation is too seek out similar houses and see how it has been done and what you like.

• jb989
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Are there things I should *not* be doing with a ranch style home?

• stevega
    15 years ago

I think that the question is pertinent and applicable to this forum. We have often heard complaints that posters are not asking true design questions and responses do not lead to expanding understanding of garden/landscape design. I was looking forward to input from those who actually know the answer (I don't)and are willing to articulate it so that we others can get another piece of the puzzle.
    Actually, I think that duluth's answer is extremely helpful to a novice in design that doesn't want to make a "rookie" mistake.
    A picture would helpful to explain examples of the principles that are implemented and may get fruitful discussion started.

• Frankie_in_zone_7
    15 years ago

I don't think we've heard the answer yet.

I don't actually have the answer, but that isn't always enough to stop me. And of course there isn't just one answer, because there might be more than one question going on.