Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
solo_voyager

I do not want to mow lawn ...

solo_voyager
12 years ago

I have spent most of the last 30 years living out of a pack, a cardboard box, a paper bag and a storage unit. I graduated to a condo for a short while and am now contemplating a piece of dirt. The only problem is that the idea of maintaining a lawn really rubs my fur in the wrong direction. I am contemplating landscaping the yard with local native and cultivars of local native plants. Things like: blueberry, raspberry, strawberry, etc with plantings of local wildflowers, stomping out every blade of grass in the process.

I'm thinking of gravel and stone paths to access the different areas. It won't be a large plot probably less than a 1/4 acre with an 800 sqft house on it.

So, why am I here rambling on about this?

Where can I find ideas on putting something like this together?

Comments (29)

• feijoas
    12 years ago

I'm often struck by how important a perfect lawn is to many Americans.
    You might find permaculture's up your alley if you're not into artificial ferts/biocides and like a more 'natural' look.
    I buried my front lawn under tree mulch a couple of years ago and planted a mix of hardy perennial and self-seeding plants.
    Out the back I encourage nearly anything that's not grass in my little ecosystem. It's certainly not to everyone's taste, but I think it's beautiful and everyone that sees it is on my 'turf' and likely to share my taste, or at least get where I'm coming from!
    Making my front garden attractive to your average observer while fitting in with my ethics and aesthetics is important to me.

• isabella__MA
    12 years ago

Yes a great looking lawn is very important to keep up with the neighbors and not be the ugly duckling on the block. It's part of the conformity required of a suburbanite, but if you're ready to break out, then don't let avoidance of one chore create more chores for you.