Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
quincy_gw

stepped footings or follow slope of ground

quincy
16 years ago

I have a slope in the lawn behind the house. Recently I did some landscaping out back and cut in some trenches so I can build a flight of steps leading from the lower level (courtyard) up to the higher level lawn area. On both sides of the steps, I want to build a set of piers at the bottom and short walls at both sides running up to another set of piers a little closer together at the top.

I'm fine with building walls n stuff on the level, pouring strip foundations/footings. I've never built a wall on a slope before so I'm not too sure about how to do this! The run from front to back is about 15-20 feet. The rise is about 4 feet.

Just wondering, should I just pour a footing in matching with the slope? Keep the concrete mix kinda dry so it doesnt slump down and build the wall sloped with the footings??? Or should I go about measuring out shuttering boards and step the footings? I dont plan on building this wall any higher than 20 inches (or 2 courses plus capping) so the loading on it wont be big...? (I have the trenches already dug out, 18inches wide and about 12 inches deep.)

thanks,

q

Comments (7)

• marcinde
    16 years ago

Step the wall & step the footings.

Dave

• pls8xx
    16 years ago

There are a couple of ways to do the construction. One would be to pour the footer, walk, and steps as a single pour. Then add the walls on top of the first pour. The bottom profile of the footer is often done in stepped fashion. If there is a disadvantage, it's in the custom forming needed for the sides and the step risers. A failure to have the riser form boards firmly secured can lead to a mess. Then more custom forming to match the step jags when doing the walls.