Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
worm_ct

Landscape design software : Realtime Landscaping

worm_ct
16 years ago

has anyone used this package?

http://www.ideaspectrum.com/

I was looking specifically at the Realtime Landscaping Photo... I've heard some good things from some people, but figured I'd ask over here too...

anyone?

thanks!

Comments (13)

• worm_ct
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I've already done a search, and I didn't find any information on this specific package.

I'm not a professional, but a hobbyist, and I work with computers for a living so I tend to use my computer as my main tool. I do alot of cad/cam and I've been planning my garden in engineering packages up until now.

Some people may prefer the old fashioned way, but thats not what comes to me naturally.

thanks for your input.

• mad_gallica (z5 Eastern NY)
    16 years ago

If you have access to cad software, and know how to use it, that works as well as anything to create the plan views. In fact there are several advantages to it, like ease of changes, you can print as many as you like, files can be emailed to others with similar packages, etc.

The difficulties arise in the artist's conception part of what the end result will look like. Escher drawings work fine on paper, but nobody would want to have to build what's there. The plan views are the sanity check, so you have to make those anyway.

• worm_ct
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Have you ever seen AutoCad or Solidworks? It looks okay for designing plans for a machine shop...

I'd like to try something that imports photos (which the packages I work with do not, that's not their purpose). I was playing around in Photoshop but it would be nice to get a package that's specific to the task..

so again, I ask.. has anyone used Realtime Landscaping, specifically the Photo edition??

• marcinde
    16 years ago

A former co-worker had it on his machine. I thought it was more effort than it was worth.