Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
czz_eddie

What small plants/flowers for outside entry to house in Texas?

czz_eddie
13 years ago

I'd like to get some ideas about what plants or flowers to plant where the two red stars are in this picture. I dug up the old ugly plants.

I'm looking for something attractive that won't grow all over the place.

I'm not a gardener by profession or hobby. Don't know much. My dad had a green thumb but I never paid much attention. This is my first house.

Thanks for any suggestions!

The house has pinkish/red brick with beige/white siding.

The palm tree in the middle has been pruned big time since this picture was taken.

{{gwi:50086}}

Comments (15)

• ideasshare
    13 years ago

YOU should dug up the old ugly walkway too.palm?it isn't cold in winter your place.I add some ideas,you select.
    {{gwi:50087}}

Here is a link that might be useful: if need more pic design

• missingtheobvious
    13 years ago

czz_eddie, please ignore ideasshare.

I can't help you as I am not familiar with Texas, but someone who does know what does well in your area will doubtless be along shortly.

• reyesuela
    13 years ago

I wouldn't try to frame both sides of the entry. You won't find a plant that doesn't look crowded on the left. Instead, do some shade-loving plants under the window to the left.

I know for sure that a Skyrocket juniper will do well on the right in your area. An Italian cypress might do well, too. Put it diagonal from the corner, not right smack in front of the support column.

• reyesuela
    13 years ago

Ooops. You said small.

Hosta, ferns, coleus, and impatiens do well there.

Elephant ears and caladiums do, too, but usually must be lifted (or they usually come back stunted), but that close to the house, they'd probably be fine.

• sleepy33
    13 years ago