Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
civ_iv_fan

Front yard landscape on fairly small lot

civ_IV_fan
12 years ago

Hi everyone. Moved into a new house last fall. As of yesterday, the 50 year old yew mustache on the front of the house is GONE. So as of today I'm obsessing about how to do my landscape design. Be nice, I've never done this before.

{{gwi:51220}}

The challenges / opportunities I'm seeing:

- the house is perfectly symmetrical. i don't want my design to knock it off balance

- everything to the right of the sidewalk is under a maple, fairly heavy shade

- sidewalk runs quite close to house, creates forced square in front of half the porch.

- angular lot line

I really have no idea where to go with the shrubs. The porch is pretty high and lattice not so attractive so some degree of evergreen would be nice.

And, for better or worse, I got too excited with a recent order from an internet nursery. The following plants are in the mail:

3 Columbine (canadensis)

2 White baneberry

2 Oak fern

1 Interrupted fern

1 Running serviceberry

1 Downy serviceberry

I don't necessarily intend on using them all in the front, but I'll have them.

I also have available for division/transplant from my rear yard:

Joe Pye Weed

Button bush

Ninebark

A multitude of grasses, unknown types.

European snowball viburnum

Here is an album of a full size sketch plus pictures

Does anyone have any help, criticism, or random thoughts?

Comments (16)

• civ_IV_fan
    Original Author
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

oh yeah, on my little drawing "G" means grass, "Fe" means fern, and "Co" columbine.

• bonsai_audge
    12 years ago

First random thought - I laughed aloud when I read "yew mustache."

Second thought, re: symmetry: take a look at asymmetrical balance as a starting point to guide some of your future design thinking. One large item can offset several smaller items, or distances can be used the play up (or down) the visual "weight" of elements.