Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hyjenist1

Designing help please!

hyjenist
9 years ago

We bought our townhouse about 2 1/2 yrs ago. As beautiful as the front yard was it was very overgrown. We have thinned out or removed most things. Now we need to redesign. And we are clueless! The area is about 7 1/2ft wide X 17 ft long. Closest to the house we have an adorable dwarf peach tree that we love. In the center is what we believe to be a hearty hibiscus that I am fascinated with, my boyfriend wants to yank out:(
And feedback or suggestions would be much appreciated.

Comments (6)

• hyjenist
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Oops Hardy Hibiscus! See....clueless!

• Exceller97
    9 years ago

I'm by no means an expert, but I like what you have here for the most part. I might take the shrub (one in front of the brown bag) out as it seems to take away from the hibiscus (definitely keep), and in its place maybe a low profile organic structure (group of interesting rocks(no more than 3), small stone bench, etc.). I am thinking a border along the neighbor's side down and across to the mailbox, consisting of spurge (something low) maybe, to define the area. Hopefully others will have some ideas to help you as well.

• PRO
    Yardvaark
    9 years ago

Landscaping is correlated to a house similar to how makeup is correlated to facial features. In the picture shown, it cannot be determined what the architectural organization and features are, so it would be difficult or impossible to determine what plant forms and arrangement would be useful and desirable. You should provide a picture where one can see the house as a backdrop and one showing what is behind the tree. Using landscaping to enhance the entrance is usually a feature of front yard landscaping. Here, it cannot be determined for sure where the entrance is.

• littlebug5
    9 years ago