Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mwalasct

New house. Small yard. Need Privacy!

mwalasct
14 years ago

Hi. This is my first time posting to the forum. We are moving into our new home next week, and we need ideas for landscaping our backyard. The lot is small (0.18 acres) and there will eventually be a new house being built behind us. Our fear is that the new house will seem like it is looming over us because of an upward slope in the grade between our lot and theirs.

We would like to add a privacy fence and shrubs/trees to block out the house. My original thought was to add a small retainig wall (2'-3' tall) with a fence on top of it and perhaps some plantings in front or behind the fence.

Does this sound like a plan - does anybody have any pics of this?

Thanks!

Comments (11)

• sunnyca_gw
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

If you put plantings behind the wall(on their side) they will end up "claiming" your property. So put up wall & plantings on your side.. Think about what you want to do tho because if they have a dog might want something you can continue around your back yard. Wall would help with any water or soil coming your way in case they didn't plant soon enough. If you are planting large trees or bushes plant them far enough in on your side that neighbors won't be cutting them on 1 side & roots won't damage the retaining wall. My GF had just a small city lot maybe 60 ft by 40 ft in back yard. It was so quiet back there & you couldn't see any neighbors. They planted evergreens just right & you could sit on patio & just feel like you were in a forest.I think she had 3-4 trees but sure did the trick but not much lawn & then nice but small patio. it was very private & the house behind theirs was quite high up so without the trees they would have been able to see everything they were doing unless they had all the drapes closed all the time. A couple of the trees had long needles & big pinecones.

• wellspring
    14 years ago