Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eldemila

Open Canvas - Now What?

eldemila
13 years ago

We purchased this house (I wonder why now) and it is in desperate need of landscaping, there is none. There was one big pine tree in the front which we had removed yesterday, did nothing for the yard, was almost 45yrs old and was not benefiting the large yard in any which way.

So I have a large yard and not a clue what to do with it.

House is in upstate SC. Would love to put in a tree between the two windows on left of picture, put a few trees in the front, though I'm not sure where.

Would like to have less grass, lots of colors but plants that don't need a lot of upkeep as I'm not good with plants, though I really want to learn.

We are thinking about removing the left part of the deck to give the house more "depth" I think this will be a good idea to have some plants against the house to brighten it up.

The house looks so naked, it's depressing when you drive up and I know it could look better. I've named this "The Potential House? because everyone says it has so much potential - just no one knows how to tap in to it.

Any help and suggestions would be greatly appreciated and welcomed!

{{gwi:53556}}

Comments (8)

• ideasshare
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I worry the root of the tree hurt the house,if put in a tree between the two windows on left of picture, put a few trees in the front.you could plant some juniper,conifer and evergreen tree,shrub,add your property privacy.these are some suggests:

,{{gwi:53557}}

{{gwi:53558}}

• duluthinbloomz4
    13 years ago

Disclaimer - the above "renderings" are not representative of normal replies to threads.

I'm going to go out on a limb here and proffer that an initial stab in fulfilling the house's potential might be attention to the house itself rather than filling a large yard with colorful plants, trees and shrubs that you (admittedly) have yet to learn about and care for.