Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hrigsby

Looking for some Plant Choice Help!

hrigsby
12 years ago

Good afternoon:

I'm a Landscape Architecture student at Clemson, and I'm currently redesigning a small part of our landscape for my mother for Christmas. My main trouble is with plant choice, as I haven't learned much about anything but woody landscape plants thus far in my studies.

Here are some pictures of the site:

As you can tell, the current plants have overgrown the space and I'm looking to correct this with my redesign.

{{gwi:54214}}

Another angle showing the context on the other side of the space.

{{gwi:54215}}

The site from the road side. I'm going to design up to the stairs leading up to the porch, since the rhododendrons on the lower side of the slope couldn't handle the site (assuming too wet) and were removed.

{{gwi:54216}}

The entire context. One thing to note is that the tall evergreens (thuja occidentalis possibly?) were chosen to provide anchors to the house, and despite the sloped site, they are the same height in relation to the house. These might should be preserved for this attribute.

{{gwi:54217}}

The area on the other side of the stairs for context in plant selection on the lower side.

{{gwi:54218}}

A close up of the lower side of the stairs. Used to be identical to the upper side, but the plant material didn't make it.

{{gwi:54219}}

The only aspect of this that is set in stone is that there will be a small tree form Lagerstroemia indica in the larger, overgrown area. I'm looking mainly for plants to go under and around this, as well as plants for the stairside hill.

I appreciate any and all help. Let me know if you need any more information.

- Hunter

Comments (43)

• designoline6
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Sorry,I am so enjoy overgrow,they always give me horticulture space enough!your main problem is not select some plants.it only design your yard frame.
    {{gwi:54220}}

• hrigsby
    Original Author