Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardeningwithlcgrace

Catalog in the mail - is the cost worth it?

Lcgrace Mahoney
18 years ago

I just got another plant catalog in the mail...gorgeous pics! Am I correct in thinking that the more beautiful the catalog is...the higher the cost of a plant or flower would be? I am thinking that that there may be less expensive places to purchase or even trades for the same plant...and that the pics don't reflect the plant quality, just the care given before the photographer arrived. I can't possibly afford their prices. If I find a plant with the same "name" cheaper somewhere else...it has a chance to look like the pic someday..right? Yes, I'm new at this. I've got 1 year as a trial and error gardener...mother nature was not kind last year. Thanks for any comments! LC Grace

Comments (4)

• ourhighlandhome
    18 years ago

Hi Grace!

You may be new at this, but you are wise beyond your years!

1. The presumed high cost/quality of a catalog doesn't necessarily mean you'll receive a high quality plant. Sometimes you're pleasantly surprised - sometimes you ain't.
    2. There are almost ALWAYS places to find the plant less expensively. My advice is to check out the company using gardenwatchdog.com before ordering from them. Keeping #1 in mind, you don't always get what you pay for.
    3. Someone wiser than me once said, on these same pages, that you can deduct at least 30% of a magazine/webpsite picture's value, and that's more or less what you can expect growing it in your own garden.
    4. With proper care you can have a plant you can be proud of, whether purchased or obtained in a trade. Don't necessarily aspire to have the one growing in the picture, 'cause it was probably a bit "doctored".

Hope this helps a bit. Enjoy, nurture and aspire...

• hibrick
    18 years ago

The appearance of a catalog has little bearing on the quality of a company, or their products.