Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hummingbirddaisy

How many of you are just itching to get back out into the gardens

hummingbirddaisy
18 years ago

I am counting the days! Although I must admit that this year hasn't been as bad as most. We had a pretty bad cold spell that lasted from mid November - mid December, and then it turned off pretty mild. I think we have stayed cold enough to let the perrenials have their long winter's nap, so that is good.

I can hardly wait to start watching the trees and my gardens start waking up to their new year. This is my first year to winter sow, so I am excited to see what germinates.

I also have seeds started in the house that keeps me busy as well as my houseplants.

What have you started indoors or WS? Let's chit chat about our coming plans as well!

Hope to hear from you all :-)

Enjoy the day!

Tina

Comments (9)

• redhotflowermama
    18 years ago

Have been out looking and some of my daffies are getting ready to bloom. suppose to rain today and am hoping. Need the moisture. Have been doing some winter sowing and hope gets cold enough for them. Judy

• Chemocurl zn5b/6a Indiana
    18 years ago

It was only winter here for a short bit in Dec. Since then have had mostly above normal temps, and I've been able to play outside off and on. One particularly warm day, I was even tempted to move a small pink flowering almond bush...but came to my senses and thought it was a 'bit' early.

Spring bulbs are springing up everywhere!

Sue

• butterflychaser
    18 years ago

I've been playing outside too, trying to get beds ready for more spring planting. I have still have 100+ plants in pots waiting to be planted.

My entire yard is a garden, so I've been trimming back dead foliage and pulling some weeds and generally cleaning up so I won't waste any valuable planting time come spring.

Now is also a great time for us to transplant trees and I have some growing in the wrong place, so they're on my to-do list.