Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
utahgardening

question about ... free for postage plants

utahgardening
15 years ago

Please forgive me if this question has been asked or answered before... but... when responding to a post for free plants or bulbs for postage... what is the exact procedure?

Are we supposed to mail a box or bubble envelope (like when doing seeds, so the person has a container to mail stuff back to us in?) or just a plain envelope with the correct postage amount?

Also, are we supposed to mail cash for the amount that the postage will be, or a check, or a money order or just loose stamps or metered postage? What do most traders prefer?

I have traded seeds before and respoded to free sasbe offers, but I am new at the plant trading and just wanted to make sure I am doing everything right. Hopefully I will have some plants to trade soon!

Thanks to everyone for their help. I enjoy the sense of community that this gardenweb offers!

-karyl.

=]

Comments (3)

• Chemocurl zn5b/6a Indiana
    15 years ago

Hi Karly,

Welcome to Garden Web, and the Plant Exchange. I don't recall anyone asking but it is a good question.

First...No, you don't send the container that the plants or bulbs will come back to you in. The sender provides that, and often it is the free boxes provided by the Post Office.

Most members, most of the time want, or require the postage be provided b4 the plants are shipped. Occasionally a member might have plants dug, be in a hurry to get them on their way while they are freshly dug, and then they collect the postage after the fact. Most of the time I require the postage up front, unless it is a seasoned member I have seen on the boards a lot, and that has some positive reviews at the Rate and Review Forum